Rating Categorisation and Sub-Categorisation Maps
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

All council websites and online services will be unavailable from 5:30pm today for essential maintenance

Rating Categorisation and Sub-Categorisation Maps

Print this Page

Each piece of land in our city is assigned a category and these categories are used to determine what rates need to be paid. The Local Government Act has four main categories of rating and, in Wollongong, we have all of them – Residential, Farmland, Mining and Business. In addition, under Section 529(1) of the Local Government Act, Council also has six sub-categories that sit within Business.

The maps on this page show the different categories of land across our city. The rates for each of these are based on the land’s value, which is set by the State Valuer General and multiplied by the rate in the dollar for that particular category of land.

Under Section 405 of the Local Government Act, Council must have, for inspection at its office, a map that shows the parts of its area to which each category, and sub-category, of the ordinary rate and each special rate included in the draft operational plan applied during a period of public exhibition.

These maps are available at Council’s Customer Service in our Administration Building in Burelli Street, Wollongong. We have also published them below on this webpage.

The series covers most of the Wollongong LGA, subject to data availability.

NOTE: the processes involved in generating this product have been fully automated and as a result, some information may be omitted or poorly presented. Where possible, the database is being amended to improve the final presentation.

Cadastral boundaries shown are the legal representation, not the physical.

No liability will be accepted for any inaccuracy in the information depicted.

Each square boundary in the map below displays links to a map sheet representing the area. These links open in a new window/tab and are displayed in PDF format.

For further information in regards to rating categories please contact Council’s Customer Service area on (02) 4227 7111

Wollongong City Council Rating Category Map Image Map
Page last updated: