Emergency Management Plans
Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

All council websites and online services will be unavailable from 5:30pm today for essential maintenance

Emergency Management Plans

Print this Page


Emergency Management Committees are established at State, Region and Local Government levels under Section 28 of the State Emergency & Rescue Management Act (1988).
The Illawarra Local Emergency Management Committee (LEMC) covers the Wollongong, Shellharbour and Kiama Local Government Areas, and usually meets three times per year. It is chaired by a senior representative of each council on a rotating 12 monthly basis (July to June).
Membership includes the heads of emergency service agencies in the area (eg NSW Police, SES, RFS, NSW Ambulance, Fire & Rescue, Marine Rescue, etc) and representatives of such organisations in the area providing support services in the functional areas as determined by the councils from time to time (eg Agriculture & Animal Services, Health Services). Functional areas are not represented at local government level unless their structures extend to that level.
The LEMC is responsible for the preparation of plans in relation to the prevention of, preparation for, response to and recovery from emergencies (disasters) in the Local Emergency Management Area. This committee is responsible to the Illawarra South Coast Region Emergency Management Committee. Responsibilities include such activities as emergency risk management, multi-agency training and exercises, and supporting combat agency public education programs.



For more information about the Illawarra Emergency Management Plan - January 2017, contact the Wollongong Local Emergency Management Officer on (02) 4227 7111.

Page last updated: