

File: GCS-80.13.035 Doc: IC20/309

# ITEM 3

# DETERMINATION OF NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS FOR 2021-2024 TERM OF OFFICE

This report recommends that Council retain the current number of Councillors (being 13, one of whom is the Lord Mayor) for the 2021-2024 term of office.

## RECOMMENDATION

In accordance with section 224(2) of the *Local Government Act 1993*, Council determine the number of Councillors for the 2021-2024 term of office to be 13 (one of whom is the Lord Mayor).

# REPORT AUTHORISATIONS

Report of: Todd Hopwood, Manager Governance and Customer Service

Authorised by: Renee Campbell, Director Corporate Services - Connected + Engaged City

## **ATTACHMENTS**

There are no attachments for this report.

## **BACKGROUND**

The Local Government Act 1993 (the Act) requires Council to determine the number of Councillors for the 2021-2024 term of office not less than 12 months before the next ordinary election ie. before 4 September 2020. The Act requires the number of Councillors to be at least 5 and not more than 15 (one of whom is the Lord Mayor).

At its meeting on 18 November 2019, Council reviewed and endorsed revised ward boundaries to take effect at the next general election. The boundary adjustments were required to ensure a balanced number of people living within each ward.

# **PROPOSAL**

The number of Councillors for the 2021-2024 term of office is submitted for Council's determination in accordance with section 224(2) of the Local Government Act 1993. It is proposed the number of Councillors for the 2021-2024 term of office remain the same as the current term.

## PLANNING AND POLICY IMPACT

This report contributes to the delivery of Our Wollongong 2028 goal "We are a connected and engaged community".

It specifically delivers on core business activities as detailed in the Governance and Customer Service Business Plan 2020-21.

# CONCLUSION

Council is required by the *Local Government Act 1993* to determine the number of Councillors for the 2021-2024 term of office and it is recommended that the current number of Councillors be retained.