Notice: COVID-19 support available for residents and businesses Read more.
Notice: Stay safe - see our latest COVID-19 updates Read more.
Use space to open navigation items
Wollongong City Council

Call for Australia Day nominations

Monday 28 September 2020

Do you know someone extraordinary?

Nominations have now opened for the Wollongong 2021 Australia Day Awards and we’re inviting you to nominate someone whose outstanding contribution deserves to be recognised.

Wollongong City Lord Mayor Councillor Gordon Bradbery AM called for everyone to consider nominating someone they know who goes above and beyond for their community.

“The Wollongong Australia Day Awards are an ongoing tradition that allows us to take a moment from our busy lives to celebrate and recognise the outstanding efforts, hard work and achievements of the people who regularly give back to their community.

“This year has been a trying one, so it’s wonderful that we can come together as a City and acknowledge the hard work that has happened throughout the year by different community members.”

Nominations for the 2021 Australia Day Awards are open until 2 December 2020, so there’s time for you to start working on your nominations.

“With nine Australia Day Awards categories to choose from, there is a category to suit all of those in our community who do extraordinary things” said Councillor Bradbery.

“Now is the time to nominate someone for an Australia Day Award! Jump online and visit Council’s website to submit a nomination and show just someone how much you appreciate them.”

Previous winners of Citizen of the Year include Geoff Phillips in 2020, Dr Justin Yerbury in 2019 and Vicki Tiegs in 2018.

Visit Council’s website to find out more about the Wollongong 2021 Australia Day Awards and to submit an online nomination.

Wollongong 2021 Australia Day Awards categories:

  • Citizen of the Year Award
  • Senior Citizen of the Year Award
  • Young Citizen of the Year Award
  • Arts and Cultural Achievement Award
  • Sports Achievement Award
  • Innovation Achievement Award
  • Community Group of the Year
  • Diversity and Inclusion Award
  • Wollongong to the World Award