Use space to open navigation items
Wollongong City Council

Agency Information Guide

1. Structure and Functions of Council

1.1 About Wollongong City Council

The City of Greater Wollongong was proclaimed on 12 September 1947 and came into effect on 24 September 1947.  It was the result of an amalgamation of the Bulli Shire, North Illawarra Municipality, City of Wollongong and Shire of Central Illawarra.

On 30 October 1970 the City of Greater Wollongong was proclaimed as the City of Wollongong.

For more information about our city's history, suburbs and population, see our History and Heritage or Demographics page.

1.2 Council Role and Functions

1.2.1 Council Role

The guiding principles for Councils are set out under Section 8A of the Local Government Act 1993.

1.2.2 Council Functions

The functions imposed on Council under the Local Government Act include regulatory, ancillary, revenue, administrative, enforcement and service or non-regulatory.

There are also other functions conferred on Council by a number of other Acts.

In undertaking these functions there are a diverse range of services provided to the community together with internal support services.

Council’s Service Catalogue is aligned with Our Wollongong Our Future – a long term Community Strategic Plan for the City. The plan plays a vital role in the future of the Wollongong, and provides the direction for the delivery key projects and services, which will help meet the needs of the community now and into the future.

The Community Strategic Plan is supported by Council’s Resourcing Strategy, Delivery Program and Operational Plan including the Budget, Capital Budget and Revenue Policy, Fees and Charges.

1.3 Council Structure

1.3.1 Elected Council

The Council of the City of Wollongong is divided into three wards.  The Council consists of a Lord Mayor and twelve Councillors, being four Councillors per ward.

Both the Lord Mayor and the Councillors are popularly elected by people enrolled on the Commonwealth electoral roll.

A full list of Councillors and Council Ward Maps are available on the Your Council Officials page.

1.3.2 Role of the Council and the Lord Mayor

The role of the Council is explained in Section 223 of the Local Government Act 1993.

The role of the Lord Mayor is explained in Section 226 of the Local Government Act 1993.

1.3.3 Organisational Structure

Council is required to appoint a General Manager who is generally responsible for the efficient and effective operation of the Council’s organisation and for ensuring the implementation, without undue delay, of decisions of the Council. The General Manager has a number of particular functions specified in the Local Government Act 1993 as well as any other functions as may be conferred or imposed by that Act.

To support the General Manager in exercising these functions there are four Council Departments.  These are Community Services, Corporate Services, Infrastructure and Works, and Planning and Environment. Each Department is managed by a Director.

Visit the Our Management Structure page to view the current management structure as determined by Council.

Next section: How Council's Functions Affect Members of the Public

Go back to Agency Information Guide main page.